Skip to content

My March Speaking Schedule (Details Added)

February 16, 2014

How cool is it to be able to write such a post title?

I have two events in March, both out-of-state (i.e., not in Louisiana).

First, I will be a panelist at the first Network for Public Education Conference in Austin, Texas, on Saturday, March 1 and Sunday, March 2. 

I am scheduled to be on a couple panels. However, the most popular will likely be the Common Core panel scheduled for Sunday morning, March 2, from 9 to 10:30 a.m.

Diehard Common Core promoter and American Federation of Teachers (AFT) President Randi Weingarten and I are to be on this panel together.

I plan to be both pointed and civil.

The panel format is such that I will have seven minutes to speak in opening and three minutes at the close. Thirty minutes will be devoted to audience questions.

In planning my seven-minute opener, I was wishing I might have some other venue in which to continue what I can only begin to say in seven minutes regarding Common Core.

As of today, it just so happens that I will have such an opportunity– at the Stop Common Core in New York State rally in Long Island on Saturday, March 29, 2014, from 12 to 4 p.m.

The rally will be held at the Comsewogue High School football field, 565 Bicycle Path, Port Jefferson Station, NY, 11776.

For complete details, see this flyer.

11 Comments
  1. Laura h. Chapman permalink

    Go for the pointed and civil, but also let your best teaching intuitions govern what you have not planned for…..unless the person is a plant and hell-bent on being a heckler. Best wishes. Wish I could be at both venues. Hope there will be some video clips.

  2. Janna permalink

    I am sorry I will not be at either venue but I look forward to video clips. I really enjoyed the audio interview you gave recently. I know you are going to steal the show.🙂

  3. EllenLubic permalink

    We have to get you out to the West Coast…if you want to see corruption..
    but you have become such a Golden Girl this year I worry that you won’t
    speak to me any more. Love to see it happen though.

    • Ellen, when I was working on my PhD, I had a friend’s mother say the same thing.🙂

      Of course, it isn’t true.

  4. Claire Landry permalink

    I,m proud of you. Claire

    ________________________________

  5. Harlan Underhill permalink

    Wonderful.

  6. Tokuji Okamoto permalink

    I am organizing a forum in Connecticut, would you be willing to speak here on March 30?

    • Hi, Tokuji. I am flying home from NY on March 30.

      My best to you with organizing the rally.

      If you are not able to organize before March 30, perhaps you might get some folks to come to the Long Island rally.

  7. Andrea Lancer permalink

    And yet another billionaire businessman who has turned his attention to public education and the root of all evil — unionized teachers. Did you ever wonder why they don’t focus on ending poverty in their spare time?

    Lawsuit funding by billionaire Students Matter founder David F. Welch & Eli Broad takes on California teachers’ job protections
    Lawsuit takes on California teachers’ job protections
    http://www.latimes.com/local/la-me-teachers-lawsuit-20140126,0,4567951.story#axzz2rTopjqjX
    It contends that California laws on the tenure, seniority and dismissal of teachers violate the Constitution because they don’t ensure all students have access to an adequate education.

    By Stephen Ceasar
    January 25, 2014, 7:51 p.m.

  8. Mercedes, I follow Pearson Labs on Tumblr. They just posted about this SXSWedu event March 3-6 in Austin. don’t know if your schedule permits, but it would be great to have your impressions…

Leave a Reply

