Skip to content

Video: iRefuse Rally in Long Island, NY (March 29, 2014)

March 30, 2014

In my post, The Deceptive Push to “Implement” Common Core, I mentioned that my discussion of deceptive “implementation” was part of my remarks at the iRefuse Rally in Long Island, NY, on March 29.

I noted that I would post a video link as soon as one was available.

Here it is, in this post.

Approximately one dozen individuals spoke, including our host, Superintendent Dr. Joe Rella, Al Graf, NYS assemblyman, Rob Astorino (county executive of Westchester County and a Republican challenger to Cuomo for governor), Yvonne Gasperino (co-founder of Stop Common Core in New York State), Mary Calamia (psychotherapist who testified to the NYS Assembly about the dangers of Common Core), Michael Bohr (founder of Bad Ass Parents), Beth Dimino (teacher and Port Jefferson Station Teachers Assn. president), Richard Iannuzzi, president, New York State United Teachers), David Greene (teacher/author/activist), and Tim Farley (principal, Ichabod Crane Elementary/Middle School).

My thanks to Mert Melfa for posting the complete iRefuse video (3 1/2 hours) to youtube. Thanks also to Michael Bohr for sending it my way. And thanks to Yvonne Gasperino and others for indulging me as I “condensed” 30 minutes into 40.

I begin speaking at 2:09:40.

I open with the story of my comical journey to from Louisiana to Long Island– by way of Baltimore–after midnight– in a rented automobile.

Despite my difficulties in arriving in New York (a helpful young man at a Dunkin’ Donuts in New Jersey told me at 3 a.m. that arriving at JFK certainly would have been easier– as though this truth had somehow escaped me), the rally was well worth my efforts to attend. Several hundred parents, teachers, students, elected officials, and other supporters of public education showed for the event despite the dreary weather.

All involved agree that the rally was a tremendous success. 

 

Leave a Reply

