Skip to content

My Book Is Published!

April 27, 2014

To all who have been asking and waiting:

I am pleased to report that my book, A Chronicle of Echoes: Who’s Who in the Implosion of American Public Education, is now available on Amazon.com!

At the moment, Amazon.com has the paperback version, listed at $23.35.

I hear that the Amazon e-book takes about 30 days until it is available for $20. However, Kobo has an e-book available now for $30.99.

Here is a brief description of the book:

“Corporate reform” is not reform at all. Instead, it is the systematic destruction of the foundational American institution of public education. The primary motivation behind this destruction is greed. Public education in America is worth almost a trillion dollars a year. Whereas American public education is a democratic institution, its destruction is being choreographed by a few wealthy, well-positioned individuals and organizations. This book investigates and exposes the handful of people and institutions that are often working together to become the driving force behind destroying the community public school.

And here is my first Amazon.com review, written by noted researcher and author, Gene Glass:

To set along side of “Reign of Error”
April 27, 2014
Gene Glass “gvglass” (Scottsdale, AZ) 
 
Schneider has exposed the corruption, greed and entangling of self-interests that underlie the attempt of the mega-corporations to grab billions of tax-payer dollars that are appropriated for America’s K-12 public schools. She puts the names and faces on the movement that Diane Ravitch documented in “Reign of Error: The Hoax of the Privatization Movement and the Danger to America’s Public Schools.” There are no “must reads” anymore. There are just a handful of “should reads”: “A Chronicle of Echoes” is at the head of that list.
What a compliment!
19 Comments
  1. Linda permalink

    Bravo. Ordering it right now and just tweeted. Love to you.

  2. Janna permalink

    Awesome- my mother’s day present!!!

  3. Sandra Stone permalink

    Congratulations! I ordered it! Thank you!

  4. Laura h. Chapman permalink

    I will order it through my local bookstore because I want that vanishing institution to thrive. I hate on-line buying but I know it will be good for you.
    Great comments about your book from Gene Glass. We had a brief exchange over one of my posts with Diane Ravitch.
    He filled in a missing blank on a faculty member from Vanderbilt that Michael Moe was praising as an “asset” to Arizona State University where Moe and President Michael Crow recently collaborated on the “Davos” for educational entrepreneurs. According to Gene, the praised “asset” was a snake-oil salesman.
    We also took a brief trip down memory lane. We both taught at the University of Illinois in an era when post-Sputnik projects were in motion, with federal support, but not the raw interference and micro-managing that is present today. Feds were just beginning to ramp up standardized vocabularies for first generation information retrieval systems.
    Looks like the entire teacher preparation enterprise is the next arena for the Obama/Duncan/Gates demolition derby.
    The fact-checking you have done is mind-boggling. I have done enough to appreciate how meticulous you have been, and thorough. Congratulations.

  5. Beyond Frustrated permalink

    Yay! I’ve been looking… Congrats, it’s on the way and I can’t wait!

  6. learningteachingventing permalink

    Congrats! It sounds great, very timely and important.

  7. Debbie Sachs permalink

    Thank You so much! Guess what my end of the year gifts to teachers will be and of course a gift to myself as well?

  8. the war report on public education(radio talk show),just ordered it.will review it and do some shows from it—it’s one of the themes of the show.

  9. Liz Winslow permalink

    Can’t wait to read it! The blurb has me hooked… And I am going to order the paperback because I hope to get my copy autographed. It is great to say “I knew you when…”!

  10. christine permalink

    Congratulations and thank you. I am grateful for you and your writing, Mercedes. You teach me and give me hope. Can’t wait to get my copy and read it!

  11. ORDERED!!!!

  12. Congratulations! Your book is at the top of my summer reading list.

  13. Reblogged this on Opt Out Orlando and commented:
    Let this book be read by EVERY parent of a public school kid.

  14. Congrats😉. Can’t wait to read it

    Gina Lollo, MA, CBR, RSSP NYS Lic Sales Agent “Your realtor for life” (631) 335-7078 http://www.threevillagehomesny.com

  15. Rick Johnson permalink

    I agree with Laura Chapman in buying the book from your local bookstore. Amazon is the Wal-Mart of the internet in my opinion. When you purchase from Amazon all your money flies out of town. When you support your local business, the money stays in the community. l intend to buy the book, but not via Amazon, ever!

  16. Claire Landry permalink

    Hurrah!!!!!!!!    Where can I  get a copy?

    ________________________________

    • Ms. Claire, you can click on the link for Amazon.com in my post and purchase it online.

  17. Congratulation Mercedes!!!! I am looking forward to reading it. Can’t wait for Amazon to make it available.

Leave a Reply

