Skip to content

My Blog Has Over One Million Page Views

September 5, 2015

As of September 05, 2015, this blog has passed the one-million-page-view mark. It happened following my posting my 605th blog entry, “Details from the Washington State Supreme Court Ruling Against Charter Schools.”

One million views in less than 32 months. That is really cool.

Let’s celebrate with some deutsch29.wordpress.com history:

I began my blog just over 31 months ago, on January 25, 2013. St. Tammany Parish (Louisiana) retired teacher and 2015 Louisiana State Ed Board (BESE) District 1 candidate, Lee Barrios, was the friend who in late 2012 suggested I start this blog.

I originally began my blog because I needed a place to store my writings, one of which is a piece I wrote in December 2012, “VAM Explanation for Legislators.” Barrios had asked me to write this piece, and former Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) data manager, blogger, and 2015 BESE District 6 candidate, Jason France, suggested I send it to education historian and blogger, Diane Ravitch.

Ravitch published my “VAM Explanation for Legislators” on January 14, 2013. Eleven days later, I started my blog.

Here is my first post written on my blog on January 25, 2013, and creatively entitled, “My Very First Blog Entry Ever”:

Some months ago, a friend told me, “You need to start a blog.”  I did not think much about it.  I thought, “I don’t have time. Besides, what will I write?”

Well.  Talk about turn that statement on its head.

For the past couple of months I have been writing numerous education pieces, mostly to correct sleights of statistics performed by would-be educational reformers.  I am at the point where I realize that I need some permanent, public place where I might record my writings.

I need a blog.

The decision to begin my blog was in part inspired by Gary Rubinstein.  He writes on his blog as little or as often as a particular occasion warrants.  I did not want to be trapped into having to post a certain number of pieces in a given timeline, and in my blog naivete,  thought I must keep to a schedule.  Gary’s entries are so informative, yet he keeps to no schedule.  Thanks, Gary, for providing your unintentional yet valued example of blogger freedom to me.

So, here I am, making my as-of-yet unacknowledged entry to the blogger universe.

Happy to be on board.

–M

Within a week, by the end of January 2013, I had begun what would become a 17-part series on the National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ). Diane Ravitch carried the entire series on her blog, and I consider her willingness to feature my blog posts as a critical to my blog becoming the voice that it has in defense of American public education.

And now, for some blog statistics:

As of this writing, the top five referrers to my blog are Facebook (250,749 page views), search engines (119,222 page views), Diane Ravitch’s blog (68,363 page views), Twitter (38,303 page views), and Huffington Post (8,108 page views).

The top five most popular posts are “A Brief Audit of Bill Gates’ Common Core Spending” (August 27, 2013; 22,900 views); “PARCC is Down to DC Plus Ten States, and Louisiana Isn’t one of them” (December 05, 2014; 13,076 views); “Steve Perry’s Dissertation: Heavy on Lit Review, Light on Scholarship” (May 18, 2013, 12,917 views); “Those 24 Common Core 2009 Work Group Members” (April 23, 2014, 12,855 views), and New York Algebra Teacher Writes Parents about the ‘Serious Disservice’ of Common Core Tests” (June 24, 2015, 10,947 views).

The single best day on my blog was March 14, 2015. That day, my blog had 8,514 page views. The top posts of that day were “Hey, Kids, If You Tweet about Your PARCC Experience, Pearson Will Call You Out” (March 13, 2015, 3,841 views); “The Powerful, Enforced Silence Around Standardized Testing” (March 14, 2015, 1,813 views); “Did You Know I Am ‘Funded by the Teachers Union’?” (March 14, 2015, 847 views), and “Smarter Balanced Offers Tips for Monitoring Students on Social Media” (March 14, 2015; 778 views).

Also, my blog home page has had 190,471 views, and my “About Mercedes Schneider” page has had 13,659 views.

So, a huge thank you to my readers, Happy Million to Me, and let the next million begin!

smiley face

______________________________________________________

Schneider is a southern Louisiana native, career teacher, trained researcher, and author of the ed reform whistle blower, A Chronicle of Echoes: Who’s Who In the Implosion of American Public Education.

She also has a second book, Common Core Dilemma: Who Owns Our Schools?, published on June 12, 2015.

both books

 

 

 

18 Comments
  1. james a miller permalink

    CONGRATS, THE WAR REPORT!!!!!

  2. You’re the best!! Thank you for covering all the facts!! And the machinations of the deformers for us!!

  3. Zorba permalink

    Congratulations!

  4. Hannah permalink

    Congratulations, Mercedes! It’s an important milestone🙂

  5. Martha Toth permalink

    Agree with others who have dubbed you “indispensable.” Thank you!

  6. Congratulations!!

  7. ira shor permalink

    You’re a “millionaire” we can all like!

  8. Congratulations. I read your blog religiously. I was unfortunate enough to have been the acting superintendent in New Orleans after Katrina when the “reform” madness began. I thought no one would ever know how devastating a blow to public education this movement would be. But, thanks to you, and a few others, some truths are being told. Dr. Ora Watson Date: Sun, 6 Sep 2015 00:42:50 +0000 To: orawat@msn.com

  9. That’s because YOU ARE THE BEST!!!

  10. Janna permalink

    Congratulations!! Well deserved!

  11. Dan Wever permalink

    Congratulations. and thanks for the good work you put in on this endeavor.

    Dw

  12. 2old2tch permalink

    Your research skills and understanding of statistics are invaluable to us. Keep on blogging!

  13. Christine Langhoff permalink

    Yaaayyyy, Mercedes!

    When the Billionaire Boys Club comes tumbling down, you will have been one of the reasons. The reformistas are so contemptuous of classroom teachers that it never occured to them that they and their plans for public education could be derailed by “just a teacher”.

  14. TGF for Mercedes and her willingness to share writing ability, her statistical expertise, her precious time, and her uncanny ability to see through the muddy water. Most of all her example as a kind and humane individual who can be trusted by both friend and foe to present this important story of public education takeover of historic proportions and significance with fairness, truth and accuracy. I am blessed to have met her and benefited from the clarity she brings. Thanks Mercedes!

  15. LA Educator permalink

    Congratulations, Mercedes & THANK YOU! You have done more over these past 3 years than any other person or entity to expose the corporate monsters behind the CCSS/Pro-Charter, Pro-Voucher Movement & the fact that their true mission is simply the privatization of public education for political gain & profit!

  16. Old Teacher permalink

    You make the legerdemain of statistics and psychometric uses of statistics readily understandable to the masses and reveal the fraud being foisted on us as a society. Keep writing, we will keep sharing and reading.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Blog Has Over One Million Page Views | christybez

Leave a Reply

