Skip to content

Louisiana Class of 2015 ACT Scores by District and School

February 20, 2016

I have pressed the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) and Louisiana Superintendent John White to release a comprehensive file of the Class of 2015 ACT scores by district and school-within-district.

On February 05, 2016, White wrote the following as part of that email exchange:

This request regards an Excel file listing all individual school average ACT scores. Those scores have been posted publicly on individual school report cards since October. An Excel file containing all school scores in one sheet has been through the data certification process and will be posted next week.

John

I waited two weeks for “next week,” and when “next week” had not happened by Friday, February 19, 2016, I used the ACT composites from the October 2015 school report cards to create an Excel file of such scores.

And I sent the following email to BESE and White, among others:

Class of 2015 ACT scores by district and school

From: Mercedes Schneider <deutsch29@aol.com>
To: Shan.Davis <Shan.Davis@LA.GOV>; Kathy.Edmonston <Kathy.Edmonston@LA.GOV>; James.Garvey <James.Garvey@LA.GOV>; Doris.Voitier <Doris.Voitier@sbpsb.org>; Jada.Lewis <Jada.Lewis@LA.GOV>; Gary.Jones <Gary.Jones@LA.GOV>; james_garvey <james_garvey@hmhlp.com>; Kira.OrangeJones <Kira.OrangeJones@LA.GOV>; Tony.Davis <Tony.Davis@LA.GOV>; Sandy.Holloway <Sandy.Holloway@LA.GOV>; Thomas.Roque <Thomas.Roque@LA.GOV>; Lurie.Thomason <Lurie.Thomason@LA.GOV>
Cc: John.White <John.White@la.gov>; Erin.Bendily <Erin.Bendily@LA.GOV>; lottieb <lottieb@cox.net>; srichard <srichard@lsba.com>
Date: Sat, Feb 20, 2016 8:11 pm
Attachment

Louisiana Class of 2015 ACT Composite Scores

As per message… dated February 5, 2016, from John White, an Excel file of Class of 2015 ACT scores by district and school was supposed to be released “next week.”

Two weeks later, as of Friday, February 19. 2016, that already-ridiculously-late release had not happened.

So, using the ACT composite information on the school report cards released in October 2015, I created an Excel spreadsheet of Class of 2015 ACT scores by district and school within district.

The public should have had this information conveniently available in the form of a single Excel file months ago. As it stands, the 2016 ACT will be given within weeks, and John White has yet to release a comprehensive Class of 2015 ACT-by-dist-and-school Excel file.

Now the public finally has ready access to this info– and you do, too– no thanks to Mr. Month-by-Month-Contract.

Regards–

–Mercedes Schneider

calendar turning pages

___________________________________________________________

Schneider is a southern Louisiana native, career teacher, trained researcher, and author of the ed reform whistle blower, A Chronicle of Echoes: Who’s Who In the Implosion of American Public Education.

She also has a second book, Common Core Dilemma: Who Owns Our Schools?.

both books

Don’t care to buy from Amazon? Purchase my books from Powell’s City of Books instead.

7 Comments
  1. 2old2tch permalink

    I had to laugh. You are a real thorn in John White’s side. I bet it is driving him crazy that a private citizen has put together this information that he has struggled so mightily to produce. They must be tapping them out on stone tablets.

  2. When I clicked on the link, it brought me to an AOL page.

    On Sat, Feb 20, 2016 at 8:49 PM, deutsch29 wrote:

    > deutsch29 posted: “I have pressed the Louisiana Board of Elementary and > Secondary Education (BESE) and Louisiana Superintendent John White to > release a comprehensive file of the Class of 2015 ACT scores by district > and school-within-district. On February 05, 2016, White ” >

  3. Laura H. Chapman permalink

    Send them a BILL, or a laxative.

  4. Martha Toth permalink

    You rock, Mercedes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. John White’s Two Sets of 2015 ACT Scores | deutsch29

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: