Skip to content

Teacher Appreciation Week Moments

May 9, 2017

I have been mostly teaching English II for the past ten years and exclusively English II for the past four.

Next year, I will be teaching only English IV.

I have not openly discussed this change with my students; last week, I mentioned it to only one former student.

That might have been all it took.

Yesterday, as I was standing outside of my classroom between classes, a former student saw me and walked over.

“Dr. Schneider, are you teaching English IV next year?”

I said that I was.

His face lit up. “I hope I have you.”

Today, between classes, I was in my room, and another former student poked his head in the door.

“Dr. Schneider, I heard you are teaching English IV next year. Is that true?”

I told him it is.

He grinned. “I hope I have you.”

As I was walking to my car at the end of the school day today, yet another former student saw me. I said hello to him. He called me over.

“Dr. Schneider, are you teaching English IV next year?”

I replied that I am.

He smiled and gave me the thumbs-up. “Good.”

That, my friends, is some marvelous, in-the-moment teacher appreciation.

Happy Teacher Appreciation Week to my fellow teachers across the nation and around the world.

_____________________________________________________________

Want to read about the history of charter schools and vouchers?

School Choice: The End of Public Education? 

school choice cover  (Click image to enlarge)

Schneider is a southern Louisiana native, career teacher, trained researcher, and author of two other books: A Chronicle of Echoes: Who’s Who In the Implosion of American Public Education and Common Core Dilemma: Who Owns Our Schools?.

both books

Don’t care to buy from Amazon? Purchase my books from Powell’s City of Books instead.

11 Comments
  1. And a big ‘back attcha’ Mercedes.

  2. mercat45 permalink

    Lovely story. Thanks for sharing.

  3. LA Educator permalink

    Sweet! That’s what it’s all about. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Christine Langhoff permalink

    You’re our teacher too, Mercedes! Don’t know what we’d do without you.

  5. I wish I could take your class too! How lucky these kids are.

  6. WonderfI’ll! I am familiar with that feeling. Teaching…. best job EVER!

  7. annat permalink

    Yes!

  8. Succinct, to the point! Gracias.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mercedes Schneider: A Word about Teacher Appreciation Week: the Words That Really Count | Diane Ravitch's blog

Leave a Reply

