Skip to content

About My April 27th GoFundMe Campaign: Thank You!

May 21, 2017

On April 27, 2017, I posted a piece entitled, “Seeking Your Assistance,” in which I asked my readers for $380 in financial assistance so that I might renew my annual subscription to the nonprofit search engine, citizenaudit.org.

Within 24 hours, contributors met my requested goal– and graciously kept the donations coming.

The final total for my $380 GoFundMe campaign was $1,033.

What this means is that after GoFundMe deducted its fees, my readers gave me a $600 gift.

Let me also add that some readers asked to mail a contribution directly to me via personal check. I won’t say too much about these private contributions except, Wow.

Whether sent via GoFundMe or through the mail, your generosity has made my upcoming summer so much easier.

Summer is an opportunity for me to earn extra money. (Such is true for many teachers.)  But I also know that I am tired.

In order to avoid burnout, I need to wake up to no major projects this summer.

I want my biggest summer writing responsibility to be this blog.

I want to read lots of books– for pleasure.

I want to savor some mental down-time.

You have made this possible for me.

Thank you so much.

____________________________________________________________

3 Comments
  1. I am kinda appalled at how much GoFundMe takes from you. I hope there is a way we can get an address. Thank you for all that you do.

    • Joan, GoFundMe charges 7.9%, plus 30 cents per donation. It is the best way for the likes of me to raise money; however, I do email my address upon request.

  2. Abigail Shure permalink

    You work so hard for us! You deserve every penny you have received.

Leave a Reply

