Skip to content

Book Review: Trump Revealed: The Definitive Biography of the 45th President

May 29, 2017

In May 2017, I purchased Kranish and Fisher’s book, Trump Revealed: The Definitive Biography of the 45th President, because it provided detailed background on Trump’s experience as an elementary school student, a topic about which I wrote this May 07, 2017, post.

I did not plan on reading the book. However, in searching for the pages on Trump’s elementary school years, I also read about his family history, which Kranish and Fisher offer in remarkable detail.

I was both impressed and intrigued, and I ended up reading the whole book.

In fact, the entire biography is written in consistently-amazing detail, which I find astounding given that most of the book was written over a three-month period in mid-2016.

The authors, Michael Kranish and Marc Fisher, both work for the Washington Post (WP), and WP dispatched scores of its professionals across the US and around the world in order to complete the Trump biography in record time.

The book was originally published in August 2016 under the title, Trump Revealed: An American Journey of Ambition, Ego, Money, and Power; the title was altered and an afterword added following Trump’s being elected president in November 2016.

It is impossible to read Trump Revealed without gaining an impeccably-documented sense of the man himself.

One of my favorite parts of the book concerns Trump suing both author (Timothy O’Brien) and publishers of another Trump biography, TrumpNation, to the tune of $5 billion for allegedly misrepresenting Trump’s net worth.

Trump agreed to be interviewed for O’Brien’s book, but the information Trump offered concerning his net worth ranged from $1.7 billion to $9.5 billion depending upon the moment. In trying to uncover a definite figure, O’Brien “reached out to three ‘people with direct knowledge of Donald’s finances'” and came up with Trump’s net worth as being between $150 and $250 million.

Trump sued.

In a resulting deposition about his net worth, the exchange between Trump and O’Brien’s lawyer, Andrew Ceresney, included the following:

Ceresney: Now, Mr. Trump, have you always been completely truthful in your public statements about your net worth of properties?

Trump: I try.

Ceresney: Have you ever not been truthful?

Trump: My net worth fluctuates, and it goes up and down with markets and with attitudes and with my feelings, even my own feelings, but I try. … …Even my own feelings affects my value to myself.

The court dismissed the 2009 suit; Trump appealed; upon appeal, the New Jersey Superior Court of Appeals judge estimated Trump’s net worth to be between $200 million and $300 million.

In discussing the O’Brien lawsuit with the Kranish and Fisher, Trump indicated that he might even sue them (Kranish and Fisher):

…It’s very unfair that somebody could write whatever they want to write and get away with it. And I will be bringing more libel suits– maybe against you folks. I don’t want to threaten, but I find the press unbelievably dishonest.

There you go.

Kranish and Fisher’s book is a captivating read. As is true of Trump himself, Trump Revealed: The Definitive Biography of the 45th President fulfills the motto, “Never a dull moment.”

__________________________________________________________

Want to read about the history of charter schools and vouchers?

School Choice: The End of Public Education? 

school choice cover  (Click image to enlarge)

Schneider is a southern Louisiana native, career teacher, trained researcher, and author of two other books: A Chronicle of Echoes: Who’s Who In the Implosion of American Public Education and Common Core Dilemma: Who Owns Our Schools?.

both books

Don’t care to buy from Amazon? Purchase my books from Powell’s City of Books instead.

From → book reviews

8 Comments
  1. Laura H. Chapman permalink

    I don’t think my net worth, small as it is, fluctuates with my feeling. Might have to read this.
    Right now I am reading in Wendy Brown, a Berkeley political scientist.

  2. anonymous permalink

    There is something seriously wrong with that man.

    And on top of that, I don’t think he knows what it means to be an American. His actions are attempting to dismantle our democracy in front of our very eyes, as he (or his handlers) see the rest of us as disposable, inconsequential. “We’ are not his people.

    Our national security depends on an educated and healthy populace, yet he’s working to undermine instead of strengthen us.

    So, who is pulling the strings? Who benefits from the collapse of the US government? Who benefits from a powerless, uneducated U.S. citizenry? From an even greater divide between the haves and have-nots?

  3. Erich Martel permalink

    “In fact, the entire biography is written in consistently-amazing detail, which I find astounding given that most of the book was written over a three-month period in mid-2016.”

    Why do you find that astounding? There were two of them and the “WP dispatched scores of its professionals across the US and around the world in order to complete the Trump biography in record time.”

    You write a book or two a year while teaching, lesson planning and correcting papers, maintaining a blog, usw. Erich

    _____

    • Erich, think of it this way:

      Given that I have written three books in three years, if I am impressed with _Yrump Revealed_, it must be quite a research feat. 🙂

  4. AND how much of that “200/300” million is leveraged….

  5. Would it be OK if I cross-posted this article to WriterBeat.com? I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as the autho5r. There is no fee, I’m simply trying to add more content diversity for our community and I liked what you wrote. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

  6. Erich Martel permalink

    FYI

    _____

Leave a Reply

