Skip to content

Today I Turn 50, and I Have a Birthday Wish…

August 3, 2017

On August 03, 2017, I turn 50 years old.

I think that is so cool.

On August 02, 2017, AARP officially invited me aboard. 🙂

50th Birthday Cake

If one wants to be technical, my birthday isn’t until 5:05 p.m., but my mother has often reminded me that she started labor at 7:30 a.m. and that it was quite the long day.

I tell her that I remember it well. 😉

This year, my major birthday wish is for those who feel so inclined to help fund my attendance to the Network for Public Education (NPE) conference in Oakland, California, on October 14-15, 2017.

To that end, I have created this GoFundMe campaign.  Please take a look.

And in case there is any doubt, let me clearly note that I do intend to consume a substantial portion of the very cake pictured above following dinner on the evening of August 3rd. (Almond cake with pineapple filling– the way a birthday cake should be.)

me at 6 months small

Me at 6 months. Hairstyle via static electricity.

 

13 Comments
  1. Happy birthday and what a cute hairstyle you had as a little one!

  2. Anna permalink

    Happy Birthday Mercedes!!!

  3. ¡Feliz cumpleaños!

    Youngster that you are! Hope you enjoy the day like no other!

  4. ira shor permalink

    Cake looks great, sure wish I could try a piece. Happy birthday, celebrate, you do the social justice work of three people, so have three pieces of cake.

  5. David Hursh permalink

    Happy birthday and thank you for all that you do!

  6. Happy birthday! Hope to see you in Oakland.

  7. You are doing a fantastic job helping people understand what is really happening today in education. Thank you. (I am a retired teacher.)

    I agree with the comment above…eat three pieces of cake. You do do the work of three people on social justice.

  8. reginald jungwirth permalink

    Happy Birthday … keep up the good work. We will be joining you in your efforts!

  9. Montana Teacher permalink

    Happy birthday! You’ve been a great role model for me.

  10. Happy 50th birthday, Mercedes!

  11. m4potw permalink

    Happy 50th birthday, Dr. Schneider! May.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Today Is Mercedes Schneider’s 50th Birthday! Help Fulfill Her Wish! | Diane Ravitch's blog
  2. Thank You for My Birthday Present: NPE Conference Attendance! | deutsch29

Leave a Reply

